Laserfiche WebLink
Amendments to Various City Committees and City Council Policy A -6 <br />November 27, 2012 <br />Page 2 <br />c) Adopt Resolution No. 2012 -116 amending the Environmental Quality Affairs Citizens <br />Advisory Committee and reestablishing it as the Environmental Quality Affairs <br />Committee. <br />d) Adopt Resolution No. 2012 -117 disestablishing the Special Events Advisory <br />Committee. <br />e) Adopt Resolution No. 2012 -118 amending City Council Policy A -6 (Open Meeting <br />Policies). <br />FUNDING REQUIREMENTS: <br />There is no fiscal impact related to this item. <br />DISCUSSION: <br />The Task Force is comprised of Mayor Nancy Gardner, Council Member Mike Henn, <br />and Council Member Ed Selich. The Task Force was charged, in part, with reviewing <br />roles and responsibilities of various City boards, commissions and committees, and <br />reviewing appointment processes, member terms, chairmanships, regularity and <br />location of meetings. The Task Force has completed its review of Water Quality, EQAC <br />and SEAC, and makes the recommendations provided below. <br />Committees <br />City Council Committee on Tidelands Management and Coastal /Bay Water Quality <br />Citizens Advisory Committee: <br />The Task Force is proposing to amend the Coastal /Bay Water Quality Citizens Advisory <br />Committee and reestablish it as the Water Quality /Coastal Tidelands Management <br />Committee. The new committee would take up some of the work currently conducted <br />by the City Council Committee on Tidelands Management, which is due to sunset on <br />December 31, 2012. However, since the City Council Committee on Tidelands <br />Management's work is not complete, the Task Force is recommending extending their <br />term until March 31, 2013. This extension is reflected in Resolution No. 2012 -115 <br />(Attachment A). <br />The Water Quality /Coastal Tidelands Management Committee would be comprised of <br />seven members appointed by the City Council and two non - voting Council Members <br />appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the City Council. The Mayor will <br />also appoint one of the two non - voting Council Members as the Chair of the committee. <br />All appointments will occur in January. The seven members appointed by the City <br />Council would serve a four -year term with a limit of two consecutive terms. The two <br />non - voting Council Members would each serve a one -year term. The committee's focus <br />would be to improve and preserve the Newport Beach coastline and Newport Bay as a <br />resource for recreational use and as healthy habitats. The committee would be subject <br />to the open meeting laws of the Ralph M. Brown Act. <br />2 <br />