Laserfiche WebLink
Appointments to EQAC and Water Quality /Coastal Tidelands Management Committee <br />January 22, 2013 <br />Page 3 <br />The Water Quality/Coastal Tidelands Management Committee <br />The Water Quality /Coastal Tidelands Management Committee will be comprised of <br />seven members appointed by the City Council and two non - voting Council Members <br />appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the City Council. The Mayor will <br />also appoint one of the two non - voting Council Members as the Chair of the committee. <br />The City Council confirmed Mayor Curry's appointments to the committee of Council <br />Member Nancy Gardner (Chair) and Council Member Michael Henn (Vice Chair) at the <br />January 8, 2013 City Council meeting. The seven members appointed by the City <br />Council would serve a four -year term with a limit of two consecutive terms. The two <br />non - voting Council Members would each serve a one -year term. The committee would <br />be subject to the open meeting laws of the Ralph M. Brown Act. <br />Since the appointments are to be made in January and there were nine (9) applications <br />received by the January 9, 2013 deadline, staff is recommending that the City Council <br />waive the portion of Council Policy A -2 (Board and Commission Appointments) which <br />establishes a Council Ad Hoc Committee to review the applications and make <br />recommendations to the City Council, and the portion that requires two or more <br />applications for each vacant seat. <br />The following have submitted Water Quality /Coastal Tidelands Management Committee <br />applications for Council consideration: <br />1. Dennis Baker <br />2. Cassidy, Carl <br />3. Louis Denger <br />4. Fred Galluccio <br />5. Laird Hayes <br />6. Jaime Holmes <br />7. Lawrence Houston <br />8. George Robertson <br />9. Douglas Wood <br />Appointments <br />Appointments to EQAC and the Water Quality /Coastal Tidelands Management <br />Committee and will take place in the following manner: <br />A. The City Council will vote on all appointments and seats on each committee <br />simultaneously. The voting will be by paper ballot and the City Clerk will tabulate <br />and announce the results, including the vote tally. <br />B. Each member of the City Council will cast a maximum of seven votes per <br />committee on the paper ballot. In order to be appointed, the applicant must <br />receive at least four votes. <br />